A Review of “The Universe, Five Minutes At A Time” by James McAllister

I had intended to first, read a couple of the stories in this book of shorts, then get the others, a few at a time, later, when I had more time.  However, I found that as I finished each one I was anxious to go on to the next intriguing story.  So, I finished the book at one sitting, and then sat around wishing for more.

The stories range from the humorous to the tragic – occasionally within the same one, such as I found in “The Neptune Fudge Affair”.  I especially enjoyed “Looking for Master” and “The Used Car Salesman”, but as someone who loves science fiction, I appreciated every story.  They are well plotted and told, and generally well written.  I felt I was right in the middle of the action with each one.

This was a quick and easy read, great for anybody who doesn’t have a lot of time, and I’d recommend these extremely good stories to any fan of science fiction.  And, if you’ve never read anything in the genre, I think this would be a great place to start.

