I’ve been asked to participate in the blog tour, #mywritingprocess, and, I must say, when I was asked, I was  just a teensy bit…well, nervous.

Cause of nervousness?  Simple.  I’ve not been a good blogger.

Three reasons I’ve not been good:

1.)  I tend to neglect to do regular updates, mainly because I’m usually working on a new story – or four (or six…or more) – and don’t like to take time to stop and do anything else (a caveat: I do take time to go to Twitter and tweet!  Well, I primarily retweet, but it doesn’t take long, and for some  reason it relaxes me.  I’ll retweet practically anything but I mainly retweet about someone else’s book or blog post, especially indie authors.  Heh, us indies need all the help we can get!).

2.)  I don’t know why, but I sometimes have problems writing anything other than fiction.  I only come up with something I want to post, oh, say, about every two or three months or so, and after that I have nothing else to say for a while.

3.)  I’ve always believed that if you don’t have anything to say, you ought not to say it.  So I don’t.

However, I am hoping to get better at finding things to blog about, because, in the end, what’s the point in having a blog if you don’t blog?

So, I was intrigued by the blog tour, and thought maybe I could answer the four questions posited,  after all, I am a writer, and I do have a process – um, well sorta – so, though I’m a tad quivery in my flip-flops, here goes…

 

What am I working on?

Currently, I’m nearly finished with the first draft of a novel that I’m writing as a sequel to a novelette I wrote last year called Hard Changes.  While it’s definitely a sequel, it’s a story that will stand totally on its own.  Tentatively titled Bridge, it continues the tale of  Randa and relates what happens after she and her children escape from marauders with the help of the non-humans who occupy the same world.   Hard Changes  is itself a stand-alone, side story/prequel in the Boucher’s World  science fiction series in which I’ve written a trilogy, a couple of novelettes and novellas, even a short story (all of the stories are prequels to the trilogy – at least so far!  And, I guess you could say the new book is a sequal to a prequel… 😀  Clearly it’s a universe that keeps pulling me back in, and is not yet ready to let go of me, so there will also be sequels to the trilogy!).

I’m nearly finished with the first draft of another novel (in an entirely different universe from Boucher’s World) that I plan to publish by Fall of this year.  It’s kind of a dystopian/fantasy.   And, I’m also doing one  in my werewolf series  (Cady and Sam), not to mention three other’s that have nothing to do with any of the above…sigh.  You get the picture.

 

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

 How my work differs…hmm…well, in the case of my science fiction series, it includes elements that I guess aren’t strictly science fiction, in that the main characters are all psychics endowed with certain types of extra-sensory-abilities.  There is an alien world, and aliens (also psychics), star ships, domes (no, not like that one), all ingredients that are part of a science fiction story, but these stories are much more character driven.  And my female protagonist, while strong, isn’t exactly a tough kick-ass.  Um, well, in one instance, she does kick-ass but it was a fluke – and he deserved it.  These stories are mostly what you might call “soft” science fiction, but, while in some cases there is a love interest (and in some of the stories, a bit of, ahem, “mating”), the stories aren’t romances (er, um, there is that soul-mate thingy, but I don’t think it’s really romantic).

As for the fantasy/paranormal stories about the werewolves: unlike most such stories floating around, there is no romance involved here, either (I don’t think the neighborhood flirt trying to hook-up with Cady’s husband counts!).  There’s no alpha male and some young woman (or female werewolf) going hot and heavy at each other, no wolf-pack drama with the beta fighting to be alpha or to take the alpha’s mate.  There is actually no alpha, or even a wolf-pack, as  such.  There are some vampires around (mostly friendlies and they don’t sparkle) some ghouls (unfriendlies) and a few demons thrown in for good measure (good and bad – and neutral).  These werewolves are a happily married couple trying their best to live a quiet and uneventful life in their small town, going to their jobs as a barber and a masseuse, and raising their young daughter, but they keep running up on situations that throw a monkey wrench into their serene existence.

 

Why do I write what I do?

 I write what I do because it’s also the genre(s) I most enjoy reading.  I started out as a small child reading fairy tales (still like them, too.  After all, they fall under the umbrella of “fantasy”!), and graduated to science fiction when I was in fifth grade and came across Isaac Asimov’s I, Robot series that someone had, apparently by mistake, placed in the school library.  After that, I read every science fiction book in there (which, sadly, didn’t consist of many) and at the public library (which, happily, had many, many more, thank God!), and when I ran up on Zenna Henderson’s People stories, I started looking for others like those, too.  I was hooked for life, and I knew that I wanted to write such stories.  It has taken a while – one might say a lifetime – but now I do.

 

How does my writing process work?

 Well, I’ll get an idea – and I nearly always know how the story begins and ends, it’s the middle part that’s a bit tougher – and sometimes I’ll make an outline, though it’s usually only a loose one (I confess that I often stray away from the outline).  Then I set aside time to work on the idea.  I’m retired so I can work on a story whenever I want, but I work on it for at least an hour every day (usually more)  and I do write every day.

Other times, there is no outline, not even a loose one.  The urge to write is so strong that I just take off writing by the seat of my pants and don’t quit until I have the basic story down.  I have been known to write all day – or night – when the story grabs me by the throat and won’t let go (since I’m retired, I can also write for however long I want, which means that I have, upon occasion, come to, and found myself lying face down on my keyboard hoping I haven’t slobbered on the thing and shorted out something!).   Then, of course, there’s all the editing and rewriting and proofing, that sort of thing.  It’s a tad messy sometimes (okay, all the time), but it is a process.  One that I enjoy a great deal.

 ******

I was invited on this blog tour by a very nice Twitter pal, Sonya Craig, science fiction writer of the Outbound series, who is a previous blogger on the #mywritingprocess tour.  See her post here.

The next blogger up is Freddie Silva, a writer of science fiction and fantasy.  His novel, The Order of the Wolf, is the first of his Kingdom of Haven series.  A link to his post will be placed here as soon as it’s published.  Meanwhile, take a peek at his blog, Fred on the Head.

Okay, as promised, here is the link to Freddie Silva’s post on his writing process: How Do I Write Thee?

 

